Play Now!



With yet another NHL #1 draft pick and new management we want to know where you think the Edmonton Oilers will finish in the next regular season...

Top 25%
Upper-middle 25%
Lower-middle 25%
Bottom 25%

Heads Up - Blogs

Heads Up - Darren Dobber

Peter Chiarelli Named President of Hockey Ops

April 24, 2015

Former Boston Bruins GM Peter Chiarelli has been named President of Hockey Operations and General Ma...

Read article

Play DraftKings free one-day fantasy hockey contest.

Hockey News

Finalists for James Norris Memorial Trophy announced by NHL

Tue, 28 Apr 2015 17:25:12 +0000

Nikko Villanueva - 4E Sports Contributor

New York, NY, United States (4E Sports) - The three finalists for this season's James Norris Memorial Trophy winner were announced Monday by the NHL.

Los Angeles Kings' Drew Doughty, Ottawa Senators' Erik Karlsson and Montreal Canadiens' P.K. Subban complete the list of finalists.

The trophy is awarded to the defenseman who "demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position."

All three defenseman have played 82 games this season for their respective teams.

Doughty helped the Kings make it to the NHL top 10 in goals against for the sixth-straight season.

His 2,377:40 total time on ice led the NHL and is averaging 28:59 of time on ice which is second in the league.

Doughty also had an efficient offensive season with 7-39—46 which is his second best behind his 2009-2010 season where he recorded 6-43—59.

Meanwhile Karlsson , who won the award in 2011-2012, again led all defensemen in points for the third time in four seasons, including a career-high 21 goals.

He also recorded another career-high in power-play goals with six and has been a crucial part of the Senators' journey to their 15th straight playoff appearance.

Subban has won the James Norris Memorial Trophy in 2012-2013 and is a part of the Senators' team that is tied for the first in the NHL in goals against with 189.

This season he also tallied career-highs in goals (15), assists (45), points (60) and game-winning goals (5).

The winner will be announced on June 24 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena during the 2015 NHL Awards.


Article © - All Rights Reserved. Provided by FeedSyndicate