Last night on the Rangers 2nd goal (pp goal), it was clearly a Callahan tip in from A Del Zotto shot. The error came in who passed it to Del Zotto and it was apparent that it was Stepan yet they give the assist to Richards who passed it to Stepan thus actually making him the 4th guy which shouldn't yield any points.
So, will the NHL correct this obvious mistake or does this happen rather often and is just overlooked at as a simple error? It is blatantly a Stepan pass.
It's extremely common. The NHL changes points several times a week well after the fact. If this is an obvious one and there is no rule around it, then it will likely be changed. If they change it we will change it, however at this time it is still awarded to Richards.
Posted - 05/01/2012 : 13:43:26
The goal has been changed to Del Zotto from Stepan and Richards by the NHL. Callahan didn't tip the puck it went off the d-mans stick in front of the net.