In the Canucks / Caps game last night, the Canucks were on the PP when Daniel Sedin rec'd a pass behind/beside the net (behind the goal line but beside the net). As Karl Alzner defended, he "shot" shot his glove, which he'd lost seconds earlier, at Daniel who had the puck. They mentioned last night that this should have been a penalty, but i wasn't aware of the official rule and in fact, should have been a penalty shot!!! Not much was made of it and Vancouver went on to win but i can imagine the complaining around here had the Canucks lost.
If this was actually the case, where the ref looked away for a split second, so be it, but what was the other ref looking at??? Interesting to note that because it didn't really affect Daniel that it'd have been a penalty (minor) and not a penalty shot.
Even more interesting is that a guy from Israel is one of the one's questioning the call! Assuming that's for real?